top of page

ON THE BLOG

2 Vital Questions You Should Ask Yourself While Purging Your Closet



As most of you know, I just relocated to a different city/state in effort to make my dreams a reality. I’m using this move as a total restart.. a new chapter. ..and that goes for my closet, too. Being a woman who loves fashion, my wardrobe has pieces from the past, present and what I predict in: the future. Oh, and don’t even get me started about shoes.. (are you following my STYLE board on Pinterest, yet?!) BUT, I’m using a new tactic to trim my closet. I call it, “Have I? Do I?” - which stands for: “Have I worn this in the past YEAR?” (because a year has all the seasons and opportunity) and “Do I feel AMAZING when I wear this?”


Surprisingly, I made a pile of clothes that (were suuuper cute not going to lie) but, I didn’t feel 200% amazing in them or I haven’t worn them in years. To Poshmark I go! $$$

"But Samantha, you look amaaazing in that."

"That's SO in right now."

"But how much did you spend on it, though?!"

"Didn't Great Aunt Lu buy that for you back 7 years ago?"

"Keep it, just in case it comes back in a few years."


...Thanks, ladies you're the best.. but we're making this a lot harder than it has to be.


1) You may think I look amazing in this, but I don't feel amazing.. I don't even like this color.

2) I initially got it because I saw other people wearing it.. turns out it's not really my style. Do you want it?

3) I spent X amount of dollars (shhhh, don't tell my boyfriend) but, I've worn it once.. I'm just going to re-sell it.

4) Yes. But sorry, Great Aunt Lu. I know you spent money on this and thought of me but, it's gotta go. I don't wear it and it honestly doesn't make me feel AMAZING. Still love you, though!

& 5) Keep it for a few years just IN CASE?! ..sound like more baggage to me.


Every conscious decision you make should move you towards your happiness. Getting dressed for the day shouldn't be taken lightly.

So, I challenge you to participate in "Have I? Do I?"


Ask yourself these questions while going through your closet:

Have I worn this in the past year? Do I feel AMAZING in it?


Imagine, waking up every morning and KNOWING that everything in your closet make you feel like a SUPERSTAR. Picture, walking out of your closet like it's a fashion show every single day. No more hiding, no more buying because it's "in".. only pieces you love to wear. Talk about some good vibes..


[BONUS TIP:]

To get the most out of your wardrobe, go for a color scheme you LOVE and stick with it. That way your pieces have various options to pair!


Do you have any closet trimming tricks? Where do you like to let go of your clothes? Also, anybody else color sort their closet? Haha!


Xx Samantha

172 views0 comments
bottom of page