top of page

ON THE BLOG

My BIGGEST Hair SECRET

Updated: Oct 10, 2018



Ugh, ladies! Ladies, ladies, ladies..  Let me tell you about the way a trip to my favorite colorist changed my life. For the better. Have you ever heard of this magical technique made especially for blondes? (Well, us wannabe blondes.. shoutout to team #dirtyblonde!) Well, it’s called “lived-in” and it’s absolutely amazing.


You know when you get your hair done, you’re usually back in the salon chair after 6 weeks with hair that you’ve probably covered with a hat or sprayed with blonde dry-shampoo because:

r o o t s . What if I told you I’ve gone MONTHS without getting my hair re-touched. MONTHS. Not weeks, months. This stunning technique allows you to go 6 months without needing a touch-up.

Why is this not-so-secret-anymore life changing? Well.. allow me to elaborate:

  1. The most obvious: you can go 6 months without crazy obvious roots.

  2. You’re going from 4-6 weeks to 6 months. Think about how much money is costs to keep up with being blonde? Hundreds of dollars. Do the math ladies! “Lived-in” is low maintenance and cost-effective. That sounds like money in your pocket - which then equals more dirty chai lattes with oat milk at my favorite local coffee shop! Win, win, winnnnnnn.

  3. You guessed it, it’s healthier for your hair. Again, instead of bleaching your hair every 4-6 weeks, your ends can take a break for awhile before you need to go back! I SWEAR my hair has gotten so long from this technique just because the ends aren’t being touched as much. Literally saved me so much!

  4. Bombshells like Alessandra Ambrosio and Jessica Alba have jumped on the “lived-in” look. Need I say more?

My girl and hair BFF, Randi Preis (@mainebalayage) at Style Me Portland literally changed my hair’s life. Longer, blonder, so natural.. I literally am obsessed. Personally, I like my eyebrows a little bit darker so we choose to do a natural shadow root on top of my head jussttttt enough for the perfect contrast and some dimension. Check it out:



Enough about my hair, let's talk about Randi Preis the blonde hair magician for a sec. This isn’t her first rodeo, she’s been in the business for 8 years now. She has an advanced certification in balayage techniques and has studied in LA. (Basically, blonde is her THING, ladies) But wait there’s more! Randi is also a MASTER of bridal hairstyles. She’s had extensive bridal/event hair training with Stephanie Brinkerhoff (@hairandmakeupbysteph) *heart eyes*. Whenever I go in I tell her to just play with my hair and every time she comes up with this crazy beautiful bridal style. One day it will be for real ;) I know, I know Randi’s pretty cool. I have so much trust in her with my hair, she’s literally been doing it since before I competed for Miss Maine USA in 2013. I tell her I love her all the time and she deserves it ALL.



Sooooo you’re like “When can I get in her chair!?” right? Well pretty ladies, Randi has such a big heart that she’s offering 20% OFF balayage, lived-in, babylights or foilyage for any of y’all who want a lift, a brighten, some icy blonde and good ‘ole freshness! Just mention this post!



To book your life-changing appointment with the hair fairy Randi, direct message her at @mainebalayage! She’ll help you figure out the look you’re trying to achieve! (Yassss queen)



You're welcome! Can't wait to see all of y'alls beautiful fresh blonde hair!


Xx Samantha

326 views0 comments
bottom of page