top of page

ON THE BLOG

SI SWIM OPEN CASTING CALL!

Holy moly! SPORTS ILLUSTRATED SWIMSUIT IS DOING THEIR OPEN CASTING CALL FOR THE SECOND TIME!! OMG OMG STAY CALM OMG THIS IS HAPPENING OKAY SAMMY YOU'VE GOT THIS. UGH Whaaaaaat!?!


Ha, alright now that I've got that out of my system.. YEAH, Sports Illustrated Swim is doing ANOTHER Open Casting Call this year via Instagram! Last year was their first year hosting an open call and obviously hearing about a chance to possibly be IN the Sports Illustrated Swim Magazine and become an ambassador of one of the BIGGEST boss babe families ever was A NO BRAINER. I slapped on a bikini and recorded a video in my room. I was nervous, I didn't know what exactly to say.. but I did it and I posted it to Instagram almost peeing myself in the process.


I didn't get picked. Major bummer. I remember crying to my mom on the phone and then to my boyfriend at home saying how I felt like this was the direction I need to go, I've always wanted to be one of those girls and I just missed my chance, etc.. I watched my sister queen Haley Kalil and Camille Kostek all year watching them BRING ITTT and literally go as far as to becoming the next year's ROOKIES! WHAAAAT. Dreams coming true, women absolutely KILLING IT.


Fast forward a year (a year full of growth, healthy changes, healthy mindset and a whole lotta confidence) I was scrolling on Instagram when Haley and Camille posted a video saying that SPORTS ILLUSTRATED IS AT IT AGAIN! HOLLLLLYYYYYY MOLLLYYYYYYYYYY. I immediately text my mom and tell her. Pretty sure this is how the conversation went..


Me: OMG MOMMMMM SI IS DOING ANOTHER OPEN CALL SHOULD I MAKE A VIDEO

Mom: Oh my gosh Sammy!!!! YES!!!

Me: I STILL HAVE SOME SPRAY TAN LEFT AND I'M FREE ON SATURDAY IT'S SUPPOSED TO BE NICE WILL YOU HELP ME MAKE A BETTER VIDEO THAN LAST YEAR?!!??

Mom: YES!!!!

Me: OKAY IM SO EXCITED YASSSSSS

Mom: I have to practice my videographer skills!

Me: YOUVE GOT THIS





So, here we are. Mom and my sister Haylee were the best film crew a girl could ask for.


Below is my video and my caption/story. It would mean THE WORLD to me if you could go watch, support and TAG @mj_day @si_swimsuit & @sportsillustrated on the Instagram video!


Alright guys, let's see where this journey may take me..


"Wooooooo! ☀️ Hi everyone! I’m Samantha Dahlborg 🙂. I’m from a small town in the state of Maine.. and ever since I was little I had this feeling that I was meant to be part of something bigger. Sports Illustrated doing their open casting call for the second year in a row is...HUGE! I think SI was one of the first magazines I looked at growing up as a young aspiring model. I was created with wide hips so seeing women similar to me was inspiring. I thought, if they can do it.. I can do it too 😃. I love how SI represents women of all shapes, sizes, colors and vibes ⚡️. A woman’s body is constantly changing, constantly evolving. My body, when I was 16, isn’t the same body I have now in my 20s. I’ve been a US size 2 and I’ve been a US size 8. And I’ve had to learn how to accept, love and protect this body I was given, no matter my shape or size 🤗. Being Miss Maine USA, being a model, being an artist I’ve come to appreciate the human form and embrace our differences. Each woman is truly a work of art! 🎨💛 By being a part of the SI Swim family, I know I can inspire others that come from small towns like me, that have wide hips like me, that have dreams like me.. that.. they too can be a part of something bigger. So here I am Sports Illustrated.. heart, mind, imperfect body and soul. 😊 Here’s to admiring yourself and loving YOUR body no matter where you’re at in your life. You’re heavenly and your body was made to do amazing things. 🦋 #YouveGotThis #SISwimSearch @si_swimsuit @sportsillustrated #SportsIllustrated #LoveYourself #BeYOURPretty #selflove #goodvibes #happygirl #dreamchaser — 🌞 golden tan by: @localtan 🎥📸 video and direction by: @ddahlborg @hayleedahlborg Thank you for everything!!"



24 views0 comments
bottom of page